Back to top  
Text size

Land Marks - art exhibition by Diana Terry (Slaithwaite)

About this activity

At Globe Arts Studio. Open to the public till 18 December 2021 viewing during regular studio hours - Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm.

Diana Terry wants to share the joy of her art with others. And with it the awe and wonder of the natural world – the landscape and environment that surrounds us, often not seen or appreciated in everyday life. Her inclusivity is infectious as we admire her perception of surface and texture, her sense of touch only heightened by her own life experience with deafness and vertigo. Her very positive take on overcoming this adversity is seen through the layers of meaning built into each work of art; each varied environment captured on canvas creates a new take on the genre of landscape.

Landmarks is a new project inspired by local quarries and mines in West Yorkshire, drawing on stories of when these sites were part of primary industry created during the industrial revolution. Comparing the physical scars on the natural landscape with their current rewilded state. It is this rewilding of quarries that fascinates Terry as she is keen to stimulate conversations on how ‘where you live gets under your skin’, leading to a greater understanding of who we are and contributing to climate change debate; as some of these rewilded areas are once again under threat from further development.

Following two years of research, production and collaboration using painting, printmaking and sculpture Terry has created a body of work for a touring exhibition; demonstrating that returning to craft processes and the rhythms of making can achieve a greater understanding of place and process.

Terry is keen to engage with people from the local area and specifically her fellow deaf community; BSL and other interpretations will be available during the touring exhibition to: Globe Arts Studio, The Civic, Gallery Oldham & Crossley Gallery Dean Clough.

Also there is a Meet the Artist Talk and Workshop - Saturday 4th December 2 -4 pm. Please click on the link under Further Information for more details.

Organiser

Contacts

Globe Arts Studio

01484 842887

Dates and venues

  • Monday 1 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Tuesday 2 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Wednesday 3 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Thursday 4 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Saturday 6 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Monday 8 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Tuesday 9 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Wednesday 10 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Thursday 11 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Saturday 13 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Monday 15 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Tuesday 16 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Wednesday 17 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Thursday 18 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Saturday 20 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Monday 22 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Tuesday 23 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Wednesday 24 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Thursday 25 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Saturday 27 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Monday 29 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Tuesday 30 November 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Wednesday 1 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Thursday 2 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Saturday 4 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Monday 6 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Tuesday 7 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Wednesday 8 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Thursday 9 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Saturday 11 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Monday 13 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Tuesday 14 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Wednesday 15 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Thursday 16 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.
  • Saturday 18 December 2021 - 10:00am - 3:00pm, Monday to Thursday, and Saturdays 10am to 3pm. Till December 18th.

Further information

Themes

Art, crafts and hobbies Art and craft-related items, including exhibitions, sales and workshops. Also, hobbies like modelling and collecting.