Back to top  
Text size

Drawn from the Pits - exhibition of miners' art

About this activity

From the dark depths of the British mines a group of luminary artists emerged, depicting lives of mining communities in ways that could be compared to the likes of Picasso and Lowry. See how their experiences in the mine influenced their artwork, understand why they took to art and what role it played in their lives.

The 6 artists featured here all worked as miners and their work draws upon their first-hand mining experiences. Their artwork is varied, from linocuts to lithographs, oils to charcoal drawings but they all allow us to glimpse into their working world and mining communities.

*The Mining Museum is currently open Wednesday to Sunday. Because of Covid 19 restrictions ALL visits must be pre-booked. Please visit our website under Further Information for more details and to book.

Admission free, booking charge £2.10

Contacts

National Coal Mining Museum

Caphouse Colliery New Road, Overton, Wakefield, WF4 4RH

01924 848806

Dates and venues

  • Wednesday 12 August 2020 ,
  • Thursday 13 August 2020 ,
  • Friday 14 August 2020 ,
  • Saturday 15 August 2020 ,
  • Sunday 16 August 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 19 August 2020 ,
  • Thursday 20 August 2020 ,
  • Friday 21 August 2020 ,
  • Saturday 22 August 2020 ,
  • Sunday 23 August 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 26 August 2020 ,
  • Thursday 27 August 2020 ,
  • Friday 28 August 2020 ,
  • Saturday 29 August 2020 ,
  • Sunday 30 August 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 2 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 3 September 2020 ,
  • Friday 4 September 2020 ,
  • Saturday 5 September 2020 ,
  • Sunday 6 September 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 9 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 10 September 2020 ,
  • Friday 11 September 2020 ,
  • Saturday 12 September 2020 ,
  • Sunday 13 September 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 16 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 17 September 2020 ,
  • Friday 18 September 2020 ,
  • Saturday 19 September 2020 ,
  • Sunday 20 September 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 23 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 24 September 2020 ,
  • Friday 25 September 2020 ,
  • Saturday 26 September 2020 ,
  • Sunday 27 September 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 30 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 1 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 2 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 3 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 4 October 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 7 October 2020 ,
  • Thursday 8 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 9 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 10 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 11 October 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 14 October 2020 ,
  • Thursday 15 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 16 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 17 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 18 October 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 21 October 2020 ,
  • Thursday 22 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 23 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 24 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 25 October 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 28 October 2020 ,
  • Thursday 29 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 30 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 31 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 1 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 4 November 2020 ,
  • Thursday 5 November 2020 ,
  • Friday 6 November 2020 ,
  • Saturday 7 November 2020 ,
  • Sunday 8 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 11 November 2020 ,
  • Thursday 12 November 2020 ,
  • Friday 13 November 2020 ,
  • Saturday 14 November 2020 ,
  • Sunday 15 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 18 November 2020 ,
  • Thursday 19 November 2020 ,
  • Friday 20 November 2020 ,
  • Saturday 21 November 2020 ,
  • Sunday 22 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 25 November 2020 ,
  • Thursday 26 November 2020 ,
  • Friday 27 November 2020 ,
  • Saturday 28 November 2020 ,
  • Sunday 29 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 2 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 3 December 2020 ,
  • Friday 4 December 2020 ,
  • Saturday 5 December 2020 ,
  • Sunday 6 December 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 9 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 10 December 2020 ,
  • Friday 11 December 2020 ,
  • Saturday 12 December 2020 ,
  • Sunday 13 December 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 16 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 17 December 2020 ,
  • Friday 18 December 2020 ,
  • Saturday 19 December 2020 ,
  • Sunday 20 December 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 23 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 24 December 2020 ,
  • Sunday 27 December 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 30 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 31 December 2020 ,
  • Friday 1 January 2021 ,
  • Saturday 2 January 2021 ,
  • Sunday 3 January 2021 ,
  • Wednesday 6 January 2021 ,
  • Thursday 7 January 2021 ,
  • Friday 8 January 2021 ,
  • Saturday 9 January 2021 ,
  • Sunday 10 January 2021 ,
  • Wednesday 13 January 2021 ,
  • Thursday 14 January 2021 ,
  • Friday 15 January 2021 ,
  • Saturday 16 January 2021 ,
  • Sunday 17 January 2021 ,
  • Wednesday 20 January 2021 ,
  • Thursday 21 January 2021 ,
  • Friday 22 January 2021 ,
  • Saturday 23 January 2021 ,
  • Sunday 24 January 2021 ,
  • Wednesday 27 January 2021 ,
  • Thursday 28 January 2021 ,
  • Friday 29 January 2021 ,
  • Saturday 30 January 2021 ,
  • Sunday 31 January 2021 ,
  • Wednesday 3 February 2021 ,
  • Thursday 4 February 2021 ,
  • Friday 5 February 2021 ,
  • Saturday 6 February 2021 ,
  • Sunday 7 February 2021 ,
  • Wednesday 10 February 2021 ,
  • Thursday 11 February 2021 ,
  • Friday 12 February 2021 ,
  • Saturday 13 February 2021 ,
  • Sunday 14 February 2021 ,
  • Wednesday 17 February 2021 ,
  • Thursday 18 February 2021 ,
  • Friday 19 February 2021 ,
  • Saturday 20 February 2021 ,
  • Sunday 21 February 2021 ,
  • Wednesday 24 February 2021 ,
  • Thursday 25 February 2021 ,
  • Friday 26 February 2021 ,
  • Saturday 27 February 2021 ,
  • Sunday 28 February 2021 ,
  • Wednesday 3 March 2021 ,
  • Thursday 4 March 2021 ,
  • Friday 5 March 2021 ,
  • Saturday 6 March 2021 ,
  • Sunday 7 March 2021 ,

Further information

Documents

Themes

Art, crafts and hobbies Art and craft-related items, including exhibitions, sales and workshops. Also, hobbies like modelling and collecting.
Learning and interest Events related to education and careers, as well as learning for fun. Also, talks, guided walks, and events of historical or other interest.

Share this page