Back to top  
Text size

Women in the Miners’ Strike exhibition

About this activity

The 1984/5 Miners’ Strike pitted the National Union of Mineworkers against Margaret Thatcher’s Conservative government in a struggle for the future of Britain. Most of the strikers were men, and the story of the strike has often been told from the perspective of men. The role of women has remained mostly in the background … until now.

In this brand new special exhibition, discover the stories of women in the coal industry who came out on strike alongside the men, and miners’ wives who set up soup kitchens, raised funds and stood on picket lines in support of the strike. And hear the stories of women from Nottinghamshire, where many miners stayed at work during the strike: some women here supported the strike, and others opposed it, dividing communities – and sometimes families – in two.

*The Mining Museum is currently open Wednesday to Sunday. Because of Covid 19 restrictions ALL visits must be pre-booked. Please visit our website under Further Information for more details and to book.

Admission free, booking charge £2.10

Contacts

National Coal Mining Museum

Caphouse Colliery New Road, Overton, Wakefield, WF4 4RH

01924 848806

Dates and venues

  • Wednesday 12 August 2020 ,
  • Thursday 13 August 2020 ,
  • Friday 14 August 2020 ,
  • Saturday 15 August 2020 ,
  • Sunday 16 August 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 19 August 2020 ,
  • Thursday 20 August 2020 ,
  • Friday 21 August 2020 ,
  • Saturday 22 August 2020 ,
  • Sunday 23 August 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 26 August 2020 ,
  • Thursday 27 August 2020 ,
  • Friday 28 August 2020 ,
  • Saturday 29 August 2020 ,
  • Sunday 30 August 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 2 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 3 September 2020 ,
  • Friday 4 September 2020 ,
  • Saturday 5 September 2020 ,
  • Sunday 6 September 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 9 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 10 September 2020 ,
  • Friday 11 September 2020 ,
  • Saturday 12 September 2020 ,
  • Sunday 13 September 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 16 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 17 September 2020 ,
  • Friday 18 September 2020 ,
  • Saturday 19 September 2020 ,
  • Sunday 20 September 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 23 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 24 September 2020 ,
  • Friday 25 September 2020 ,
  • Saturday 26 September 2020 ,
  • Sunday 27 September 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 30 September 2020 ,
  • Thursday 1 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 2 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 3 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 4 October 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 7 October 2020 ,
  • Thursday 8 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 9 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 10 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 11 October 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 14 October 2020 ,
  • Thursday 15 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 16 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 17 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 18 October 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 21 October 2020 ,
  • Thursday 22 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 23 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 24 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 25 October 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 28 October 2020 ,
  • Thursday 29 October 2020 ,
  • Friday 30 October 2020 ,
  • Saturday 31 October 2020 ,
  • Sunday 1 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 4 November 2020 ,
  • Thursday 5 November 2020 ,
  • Friday 6 November 2020 ,
  • Saturday 7 November 2020 ,
  • Sunday 8 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 11 November 2020 ,
  • Thursday 12 November 2020 ,
  • Friday 13 November 2020 ,
  • Saturday 14 November 2020 ,
  • Sunday 15 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 18 November 2020 ,
  • Thursday 19 November 2020 ,
  • Friday 20 November 2020 ,
  • Saturday 21 November 2020 ,
  • Sunday 22 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 25 November 2020 ,
  • Thursday 26 November 2020 ,
  • Friday 27 November 2020 ,
  • Saturday 28 November 2020 ,
  • Sunday 29 November 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 2 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 3 December 2020 ,
  • Friday 4 December 2020 ,
  • Saturday 5 December 2020 ,
  • Sunday 6 December 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 9 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 10 December 2020 ,
  • Friday 11 December 2020 ,
  • Saturday 12 December 2020 ,
  • Sunday 13 December 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 16 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 17 December 2020 ,
  • Friday 18 December 2020 ,
  • Saturday 19 December 2020 ,
  • Sunday 20 December 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 23 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 24 December 2020 ,
  • Sunday 27 December 2020 ,
  • Wednesday 30 December 2020 ,
  • Thursday 31 December 2020 ,
  • Friday 1 January 2021 ,
  • Saturday 2 January 2021 ,
  • Sunday 3 January 2021 ,

Further information

Documents

Themes

Learning and interest Events related to education and careers, as well as learning for fun. Also, talks, guided walks, and events of historical or other interest.

Share this page